Waste Management Commission

The Waste Management Commission is an 18 member advisory body to the Orange County Board of Supervisors.
The Board of Supervisors established the Waste Management Commission on July 13, 1982. Members of the Waste Management Commission are selected in the following ways:

Ten Members:

Two public members appointed by each Supervisor to a two-year term.  Appointee must reside in Orange County, and may not be a representative of the waste industry.

Five Members: Five city council members, one from a city located in each of the five Orange County Supervisorial Districts, appointed by the City Selection Committee for the County of Orange, California (the City Selection Committee) to a three-year term.
One Member: The Chair of the City Selection Committee or any elected city official designee to a three-year term.
One Member: A City Manager appointed by the City Selection Committee to a three-year term.
One Member: The Director, OC Waste & Recycling, or his or her designee, shall be a non-voting member of the Commission.
The current members of the Waste Management Commission are:
Mike Alvarez City Selection Committee - 3rd District
Cheryl Brothers    City Selection Committee - 1st District
Joe J. Carchio 2nd District
Cynthia Conners City Selection Committee - 5th District
Donald R. Froelich, Vice Chair 3rd District
Rob Johnson, Chairman City Selection Committee - 2nd District
Charles J. Kim 4th District
Deepak Krishan 1st District
Christine Marick City Selection Committee - 4th District
Tina M. Nieto  2nd District
Bret M. Plumlee City Selection Committee - City Manager Representative
David J. Shawver City Selection Committee - At Large
Joe Soto 5th District
Mark Tettemer 5th District
Chad P. Wanke 4th District
Vacant 1st District
Vacant     3rd District
Ex Officio:
Thomas D. Koutroulis Director, OC Waste & Recycling

The purpose of the Waste Management Commission is to advise the Orange County Board of Supervisors on matters relating to municipal solid waste and hazardous waste management, operation and maintenance of the County's landfills, and other facilities related to the County's solid waste disposal system.

The Waste Management Commission meets quarterly on the second Thursday of March, June, September, and December at 2:00 p.m.

2018 Meeting Dates

    Thursday, March 8, 20178
    Thursday, June 14, 2018
    Thursday, September 13, 2018
    Thursday, December 13, 2018

All meetings are held at 2:00 p.m. at OC Waste & Recycling Headquarters:

300 North Flower Street
Room 467
Santa Ana, CA 92703
Click here to see map.

WMC Meetings and Agendas

For more information about the Waste Management Commission please contact Julie Chay at (714) 834-4059 or via email at julie.chay@ocwr.ocgov.com.